Well deserved

Another academic year is drawing to a close, providing the perfect opportunity to highlight excellence among faculty and staff. Dr. Janna Johnson (81C), at left in photo, and Dr. Christy Snider earned high praise at the recent Honors Night Convocation, taking home two of Berry’s most prestigious faculty awards. Johnson, a lecturer in mathematics and computer science and associate director of athletics, received the Eleana M. Garrett Award for Meritorious Advising and Caring. Snider, associate professor and department chair of history, claimed the Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award.

Berry’s top faculty and staff members, as selected by the Student Government Association, both have ties to the Berry Alumni Association. Dr. David Slade (97C), associate professor of Spanish, director of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, and incoming historian of the Berry Alumni Association, was named Faculty Member of the Year. Interim Chaplain Jonathan R. Huggins, an associate alumnus (wife Lisa Hoffman Huggins is a 2000 graduate) claimed the same award for staff. Look for more winners in next month’s issue!

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.