Tag Archives: Christy Snider

Christy Snider

Dr. Christy Snider

Zach Sherwin

Zach Sherwin

A longtime member of Berry’s history faculty and an innovative young alumnus found themselves in the spotlight this spring as recipients of the 2015 Martindale Awards of Distinction. These special awards were endowed by Susan Byrd Martindale (73C) and her husband, Larry, to reward faculty/staff members who promote continuous improvement, implement innovative approaches to problem solving and inspire others to extraordinary achievement.

In winning the Martindale Award for faculty, Associate Professor of History Christy Snider was praised for leading by example, encouraging students and bringing about positive changes to Berry’s history curriculum. Staff Martindale recipient Zach Sherwin (10C) was lauded as a behind-the-scenes innovator with an “unsurpassed sense of logic” who excels as assistant director of enterprise systems.

Other spring honorees included:

  • Dr. Christopher Diller, professor of English, rhetoric and writing, Vulcan Teach Excellence Award
  • Dr. Bob Frank, associate professor of communication, Eleana M. Garrett Award for Meritorious Advising and Caring
  • Dr. Sandy Meek, Dana professor of English, rhetoric and writing, Mary S. and Samuel Poe Carden Award
  • Dr. Chris Hall, associate professor of biology, Dave and Lu Garrett Award for Meritorious Teaching
  • Julie Bumpus, associate dean of students, Outstanding Staff Member (as selected by SGA)
  • Dr. Peter Yoder, visiting assistant professor of Christian studies, Outstanding Faculty Member (as selected by SGA)
  • Starr Boylan (93C), senior admissions counselor, John R. Bertrand Superior Student Work Supervisor Award

Additionally, Frank and Bumpus joined fellow retirees Jere Lykins and Harry Musselwhite in being granted emeritus recognition by the Berry College Board of Trustees.

Bookmark and Share

Another academic year is drawing to a close, providing the perfect opportunity to highlight excellence among faculty and staff. Dr. Janna Johnson (81C), at left in photo, and Dr. Christy Snider earned high praise at the recent Honors Night Convocation, taking home two of Berry’s most prestigious faculty awards. Johnson, a lecturer in mathematics and computer science and associate director of athletics, received the Eleana M. Garrett Award for Meritorious Advising and Caring. Snider, associate professor and department chair of history, claimed the Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award.

Berry’s top faculty and staff members, as selected by the Student Government Association, both have ties to the Berry Alumni Association. Dr. David Slade (97C), associate professor of Spanish, director of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, and incoming historian of the Berry Alumni Association, was named Faculty Member of the Year. Interim Chaplain Jonathan R. Huggins, an associate alumnus (wife Lisa Hoffman Huggins is a 2000 graduate) claimed the same award for staff. Look for more winners in next month’s issue!

Bookmark and Share