Tag Archives: equestrian

Berry Hunt Seat Equestrian Team

Berry Hunt Seat Equestrian Team. Image courtesy of MHarris Photography.

Congratulations to Berry’s hunt seat and western equestrian teams for tremendous seasons capped by regional championships. The hunt seat team (seen here after winning the UGA Valentine’s Day Classic) is perfect so far, besting the likes of the University of Alabama, the University of Georgia and Emory University while earning a No. 1 ranking in the region. The western team has also put up high marks as it sets its sights on the possibility of a second national championship in three years. Both teams will be competing for a trip to nationals in the coming weeks. Two riders, freshman Nicole Roos (hunt seat) and junior Andrea Smith (western), have already qualified for nationals as individuals thanks to their status as high point riders for the year.

Bookmark and Share

Brin Enterkin in AfricaBrin Enterkin (12C) has been making news for her service activities since high school, when her efforts to raise funds to establish a school in rural Cambodia landed her on the cover of Fayette Woman magazine (and later in Berry magazine). As she completes her distinguished career as a Berry student, it’s only fitting that we spotlight her one more time as recipient of the $40,000 William E. Simon Fellowship for Noble Purpose Grant to support The SOUP (Sponsorship of Orphans in Uganda Project), a nonprofit she started while at Berry. More about Brin.

Junior Aaron Ostrander also earned praise this spring as one of a select group of students nationwide to be awarded the Goldwater Scholarship for his work in physics and mathematics.

On the athletic front, sophomore Kristin Brennan made her mark by claiming top honors individually in the Novice Equitation on the Flat event at the 2012 Intercollegiate Horse Show Association national championships. In team competition, Berry’s western riders logged another top-five finish. Not be be outdone, senior lacrosse player Jenny Miller finished as one of the nation’s top scorers and earned a spot in the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Division III North-South Senior All-Star Game.

Bookmark and Share