Tag Archives: Mandy Tidwell

Frances Richey

Frances Richey (83A, 87C) is beginning her second term as president of the Berry Alumni Association.

A familiar presence has assumed the mantle of leadership as president of the Berry Alumni Association, with Frances E. Richey (83A, 87C) returning to a role she previously held from 2008 to 2010. She succeeds Tim Goodwin (03C), who will continue service as immediate past president.

Also stepping into leadership positions are three new vice presidents and three appointed officers representing more than a half-century of Berry history. They include:

  • Julie Patrick Nunnelly (88C, 00G), vice president, alumni events
  • Samantha Knight Tuttle (11C), vice president, young alumni and student relations
  • The Rev. Valerie Loner (91C), vice president, Berry heritage
  • Clara Hall McRae (60C), chaplain
  • Robert Aiken (82A), parliamentarian
  • Dr. Jennifer Dickey (77A, 80C), historian

Continuing in service are Jonathan Purser (85C), vice president, financial support; Patricia Tutterow Jackson (82C), vice president, alumni awards; and Mandy Tidwell (93C), secretary.

Bookmark and Share

Golden Guard Induction

Joy was in the air May 20-22 as nearly 400 alumni and friends gathered to celebrate their shared Berry heritage at Alumni Weekend. This year’s event included reunions for the high school, academy and college classes of 1951, 1956, 1961 and 1966.

Highlights included Golden Guard induction for the academy and college classes of 1966 and presentation of the 2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards. Winners included:

Roger W. Lusby III (79C), Distinguished Achievement

Joy Bernice Ogle Whaley (53H), Distinguished Service

Tricia Steele (09C), Entrepreneurial Spirit

Chris R. Hayes (04C), Outstanding Young Alumni

Ross MagoulasAlso honored were Alumni Association Secretary Mandy Tidwell (93C), recipient of the Alumni Association President’s Award, and Robert Catanzano, who received the Berry High Schools/Berry Academy Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award.

Alumni WeekendThe college class of 1966 shined in class competition, claiming the Reunion Cup (highest percentage attendance), Viking Cup (highest giving percentage) and Heritage Cup (greatest increase in Berry Heritage Society membership). The Ford Cup (highest total amount given) went to the college class of 1961. Total reunion giving for all classes was $1.4 million.

Nominations for the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards are now being accepted. Click here for details.

Additional content: Alumni Weekend photos, Alumni Weekend Worship Service audio

Bookmark and Share

Tim Goodwin

Tim Goodwin (03C)

Fred Tharpe

Fred Tharpe (68A)

Tim Goodwin (03C) has dreamed of serving on the Berry College Board of Trustees since his student days. Now the newly installed president of the Berry Alumni Association has that opportunity. He is one of five new trustees to join the board this year, among them fellow alumnus Fred Tharpe (68A), recently appointed chairman of the Berry College Board of Visitors. Others include nonprofit leader Roxanne Spillett, banking executive Brad Dinsmore and former Board of Visitors Chairman Pete Capponi. Look for more information on each new trustee in the fall issue of Berry magazine.

Like the Board of Trustees, the Board of Visitors also welcomed new members this spring. They are David Asbury (84C), John Beck (71C), John Coleman (04C) and Anne Berry Bonnyman.

Other alumni have joined Goodwin as newly elected and appointed officers for the Alumni Council. They include Dr. David Slade (97C, FS), vice president, Berry Heritage; the Rev. Valerie Loner (91C), chaplain; Patrick Ouzts (03C), parliamentarian; Mandy Tidwell (93C), secretary; Joseph Ragsdale (65C), Work Week coordinator; Nathan Butzen (03C), historian; Mary Chambers (14C), alumni experiential director; and Michael Williams (03C), strategic advisor.

Bookmark and Share